Darren Shan

Shan, Darren.jpg

Please click here to view this author's sessions

Darren Shan has always wanted to be a writer and at the age of 14 bought his own typewriter. His first taste of literary success came a year later, when he was runner-up in a TV script-writing competition for RTE in Ireland, with a script entitled A Day in the Morgue. He tended towards the dark side even then!

After two novels for adults, Darren’s big breakthrough came with his first children’s book, Cirque du Freak, which attracted rave reviews and received a great deal of media attention. The book became the first in a phenomenally successful 12-part series, The Saga of Darren Shan, which sold millions of copies worldwide. He then embarked on The Demonata, which began with Lord Loss in 2005 and told, over ten volumes, the story of a group of heroes battling horrific demons across different times and dimensions. Darren has also written two standalone books, Koyasan and The Thin Executioner, and the urban fantasy City Trilogy. He is currently writing The Saga of Larten Crepsley, a four-book series about the mentor of the fictional Darren Shan. The third Crepsley book, Palace of the Damned, was published in October 2011. His next project is a 12-part zombie series for teenagers, called Zom-B, which will be published every three months from autumn 2012 onwards; he also recently announced a new book for adults called Lady of the Shades.

Darren’s books are published in 34 countries and translated into at least 27 languages.

Darren lives in seclusion in the depths of rural Ireland with a massive collection of films.

Sign Up for Newsletter

FacebookTwitter RSS

Headline Sponsor

Emirates Airline

In partnership with:

Dubai Culture and Arts Authority

Copyright © 2009 Emirates Airline Festival of Literature. All rights reserved.

Contact Us | Main Programme

 Developed by SJ